File status

No uploaded file.

Privacy Statement

Server log file

A log file is created on the server which contains the requests to the server.
The log file contains the following information:

  • IP address of the device from which the request was sent
  • Date and time of the request
  • Request by the browser
  • Status code of the response given to the request

The log file is kept for security and statistical purposes. Log files are deleted after 1 year. Photos uploaded by the users cannot be identified with the help of the log file entries. The log file does not contain any personal data. The uploaded image files are given a random internal name on the server. These names can only be connected to the uploaded image files during the actual session. After the uploaded images are deleted – either automatically or by the user –, no data remains on the server related to the image file (which is considered to be personal data). 6 hours following the upload of the pictures, even the names of the uploaded image files are deleted from the server.

Processing the images uploaded to the server

We need to upload the images to the server if the user would like to create an ID photo or passport photo. Uploaded images are stored on the server in four versions.

Versions of the uploaded image:

  • Source image

    Uploaded by the user. The passport photo is created from this version by applying the chosen technical standards and cropping settings.

  • Work image

    Created automatically upon upload. A temporary image created for editing. The original image is too big in most cases. A large source image would take up too much space in the memory of the browser, and it would result in a high CPU usage when applying cropping settings. For the sake of optimization, a work version is created of the uploaded picture, which is displayed on the user interface to set brightness and contrast and to crop the image.

  • Preview of final image

    This version is created after the user has set the cropping settings of the picture. This image is shown in the browser before downloading the final picture. It represents how the final product will look like. Based on this preview, users can decide if they want to download the final image or if they want to delete all versions of the previously uploaded pictures.

  • Final image

    This version is created after the user has set the cropping settings of the picture. ID or passport picture made according to standards suitable for printing or to use in online applications. This is the image that the user can download after processing.

Note: When deleting the pictures, all the versions are deleted from the server.

Control and deletion of uploaded images

Deleting process

Deleting the image files will result in deletion of all versions of the given file.

User control over the file

A box is displayed at the top of every screen in the website with the text "File Status". The File Status box displays the name of the currently uploaded picture. If there is no uploaded image related to the current session, this is also visible in the box. The File Status box enables the users to delete the uploaded file. If there is an uploaded file on the server related to the user’s session, then a deletion link is displayed in the File Status box. By clicking this link, the user can delete all the versions of the uploaded image from the server. There is another link in the File Status box which leads to the detailed privacy policy.

Cases of automatic deletion

In order to avoid storing the uploaded images on the server for longer than necessary, the system will delete them, even if the user hasn’t deleted them by clicking on the deletion link.

  1. Automatic server-side scheduled deleting process

    The server runs a timed deleting process. The initiating time of the deleting service is 3 hours at the moment. This deletes every uploaded image file and all of its versions (source image, work image, final preview, final image). Images uploaded to the server are stored there for a maximum of 6 hours. The automatic deleting process deletes all the images uploaded more than 6 hours previously. The user cannot control the automatic deleting process. If editing the uploaded file took longer than 6 hours, which is not a realistic case, the picture would need to be re-uploaded on the server.

  2. Uploading a new image

    One user can only have one uploaded image and its versions on the server at the same time. If the user uploads a new image to the server, then all the versions of the previously uploaded image will be deleted from the server.

  3. The uploaded image is not in the right format

    If the user uploads an image which does not meet the requirements, the uploaded image is deleted.

    Incorrect images:

    • The size of the image is incorrect, height or width is smaller or higher than the required limits.
    • The bid depth is incorrect. We only process 24-bit images.
    • The size of the image is bigger than the upload limit. (10 MB at the moment)
    • The picture is not an image file. The uploaded pictures are tested to see if they are really image files. It is illegal to upload manipulated image files, especially files containing executable code fragments. Uploading such pictures can have legal consequences.

Anonymous use of the services

The use of the website is anonymous. Users are not able to and not required to provide any personal details in order to use the website. The user can only delete the uploaded images during the session created between the uploading computer or mobile device and the server. We do not provide any uploaded images or information related to the images via email. Moreover, we cannot delete any uploaded image files requested by email.

User control over the uploaded images

As user identifying data is not required and cannot be provided during the upload, the session closes as soon as the browser is closed. After the session is closed, the user is no longer in control of the uploaded picture.

As soon as the user leaves the browser, the current session is closed. This way, the user is no longer able to delete the uploaded picture. However, the automatic image deleting process deletes every file uploaded more than 6 hours ago (in every case). This means that uploaded images are deleted after 6 hours even if they are not deleted by the user.

How do specific cookie settings affect the session?

In certain cases, the session is not closed when the browser is closed. If the browser allows for extending the expiration date of the cookies, and the browser is set to keep them, the user session can still be alive after closing the browser. In this case, the session will still be alive when opening the browser the next time, and if the new entry happens before the automatic deletion, the user will see the uploaded image on the server and is also able to delete it. If your browser settings are such, we recommend you to change them, even if these are default settings of the browser.

Special cases of interrupted sessions

In certain cases, the control over the session and the uploaded images can be broken. In case the server’s power supply is interrupted, the server can shut down, and the user can lose control over the uploaded files. After the server is restarted, files uploaded more than 6 hours ago are deleted.

In certain cases the service might be redirected to another physical server. In this case, the current sessions are interrupted. All the uploaded files are deleted from the server that was active before the redirection, irrespective of the time of the upload.

Cookies

You can choose to accept or decline cookies. Most web browsers automatically accept cookies, but you can usually modify your browser setting to decline cookies if you prefer.

Further information in detailed Cookie Policy.

Information sharing

idphoto4you.com does not share uploaded photos or statistics about visitors to third parties unless it is required by law.

Purpose of data control

Storing the pictures for up to 6 hours is necessary in order to create the ID or passport photo required by the user. We do not share the temporarily stored data with any third parties. Normally, stored personal information is on the server for no longer than 6 hours. If the user thinks that the website’s use of their data was unauthorized or neglectful, they can report it at the data protection authority.

Data controller

Name: Majer János
Address: Hungary 2130 Göd Rába u. 20.
Email: idphoto4you@gmail.com